What to look for in a protein shake (and what I use!)

For the longest time, I was NOT into protein shakes. Mostly because I didn’t need them but also because I couldn’t find one that a. fit my budget  or b. had an ingredient list that I was okay with. I decided to opt for a real food option and that worked for me…at the time. I had some free time in the mornings before work which meant that I could heat up an omelette and some veggies and get my day started right.

Flashback to the beginning of this school year ( I’m a high school teacher) and I was feeling the negative effects that hectic mornings were having on my nutrition. I no longer had a plan period first thing in the morning (bye, bye omelettes.) In my rush to get my two small children ready and out the door, as well as myself, I was grabbing food that either wasn’t good for me or wasn’t nutritionally balanced just for the sake of eating something for breakfast. I was cranky and tired and I knew I had to find SOMETHING. I knew my best option for portable nutrition was a shake. The convenience of having a ready made mix as well as the ability to drink it in the car were the deciding factors for me. The search began for a powder that fit my nutritional criteria.

So what exactly was I looking for?

1. NO ADDED SUGAR/ARTIFICIAL INGREDIENTS

This is the number one decision maker for me when it comes to almost everything I eat or drink. In terms of a protein shake, since I’m using it as a breakfast replacement, I need it to meet my nutritional needs. Americans already consume WAY too much sugar and it is negatively impacting our health in a major way.  On top of that, we are loading our bodies with artificial sweeteners and fillers that cause inflammation and lead to disease. In order for my body to get the nutrition it needs to function properly, I need to avoid these ingredients.

This is the nutrition label for a popular protein shake mix. Let’s take a look at the not so good stuff:

Image result for eas protein powder label

 

Corn maltodextrin– A highly processed powder with no nutritional value that is used to thicken foods and is also known to spike blood sugar. 

Artificial flavor- It’s artificial…enough said.

Carrageenan– Another highly inflammatory  thickener with no nutritional value… this is an issue, according to Dr. Weil, because  “inflammation is a root cause of many serious diseases including heart disease, Alzheimer’s and Parkinson’s diseases, and cancer.”

Acesulfame Potassium– An artificial sweetener with a link to thyroid damage and cancer.

Sucralose– Another artificial sweetener.  Not only are these fake sugars linked to a myriad of diseases and poor gut health, but Dietitian Cassie reports that many of the issues with these sweeteners is that since they “contain no calories, they mess up your metabolism. That’s right, these phony substances actually confuse your metabolism which in turn slows it down and leads to weight gain—exactly the opposite effect you’re wanting when attempting to forgo the calories you get from real sugar.”  Because of the amount of research I’ve done, this one is a nonnegotiable for me. It doesn’t matter how much (or how little ) the amount is—if there is sucralose(aka SPLENDA) or any other artificial sweetener in a food or drink, I will not consume it.

If I’m trying to fuel my body and provide it with proper nutrition, these are NOT ingredients I want to consume. The important thing here is to read labels. If you don’t know what an ingredient is, don’t be afraid to research it. From there, make a decision that is best for you and your nutritional needs.

2. PLANT BASED

There have been multiple studies published that show the nutritional advantages of plant based diets and this includes using it as a source of protein.  I mean, there is certainly nothing wrong with consuming more vegetables, nuts, and legumes! This factor is important to me not only from a nutritional standpoint, but also because of sensitivities I have to dairy and soy.  Most protein shakes are whey or soy based and I have discovered over the course of my Whole30 journey that my body does not operate at its highest potential when I consume either of those. While I eat mostly Paleo now and most plant based shakes are not Paleo due to the legumes, I have personally found that the pea and brown rice proteins in the shakes do not bother me and as part of my “food freedom” right now, I’m okay with consuming it as a part of my meals during the week.

3. PRICE

This one is kind of tricky. Obviously you have to spend a little more $$ for top ingredients, but I also don’t want to spend $100+ a month on shakes.  I would much rather spend that kind of money on real food. There are also protein shakes out there that are expensive but aren’t necessarily the best when it comes to nutrition. That’s where label reading comes in.

Now, $50 a month? That I can do. My price range for a container is anywhere from $25-30 (a container will last me a little over two weeks.) It breaks down to $1.56 a serving, which really isn’t that bad (certainly better than running through the drive thru  every morning like I  used to .)

Which protein shake did I decide on?

After doing a lot of research, comparing nutrition labels, and trying a few samples of shakes, I ultimately decided on Vega Protein & Greens. It hit all of the criteria that I established for my needs— plant based with no added sugar or artificial ingredients, plus the price was right.

Ingredients

PEA PROTEIN, COCOA POWDER (PROCESSED WITH ALKALI), NATURAL FLAVORS, PEA STARCH, ORGANIC ALFALFA GRASS POWDER, BROWN RICE PROTEIN, HEMP PROTEIN, SACHA INCHI PROTEIN, SPINACH POWDER, BROCCOLI POWDER, *STEVIA LEAF EXTRACT, PAPAIN POWDER, ORGANIC KALE POWDER, XANTHAN GUM.
*Stevia is a natural, plant based sweetener that is safe alternative to sugar when used in moderation.

PRICE

Depending on where you get it from, Vega can range from $25-32. I’ve gotten some great deals on it at Target (especially when I have a Cartwheel and I use my Red Card.) and there are often online specials.

One more thing…

Since I’m using a protein shake as a meal replacement instead of for building muscle, there are a few gaps I have to fill here. Most protein shakes are high in protein (obviously) but low in fat and carbs because they are intended to be used for growing muscle tissue. In order to stay satiated, I usually add a few things into my shake and turn it into a smoothie.

  1. Healthy fat: Fat doesn’t make you fat  but it does help you feel full until your next meal. I typically add a tbsp of coconut oil or 1/4-1/2 of a frozen avocado to my shake. Sometimes I throw a tbsp of chia seeds in. I am definitely not as satisfied if I forget to some kind of healthy fat, though.
  2. Carbohydrates: Depending on the day, I will add a 1/4 cup of frozen strawberries or half a frozen banana to my shake to bump up the carbs a bit. The powder I used does have 7g, which I’m typically okay with. Natural carbs are not the enemy and they are an important part of the macronutrients required for our diet.

Is this the right protein powder for you?

Maybe, maybe not. It’s up to you to decide. I often get asked what shake I use, which is why I decided to share this information, but what works for me may not work for you. Think about your nutritional needs and your budget and then do some research. Try to get samples of powders you want to try and see how they make you feel.

Leave a comment